The Society for Information Display is proud to announce the winners of their prestigous achievement awards for 2007. For more information on the winners and their accomplishments, please see the May 2007 Show issue of Information Display magazine.

Jan Rajchman Prize

Prof. Shigeo Mikoshiba:

For his outstanding contributions to research on the technology of plasma displays and backlights for liquid-crystal displays, including the clarification of display motion artifacts and the enhancement of the light-emitting efficiency.

Otto Schade Prize

Dr. Andrew B. Watson:

For his many contributions to vision science and the computational modeling of the visual process, including applications to display and image-quality metrics and image compression.

Slottow-Owaki Prize

Prof. J. William Doane:

For his outstanding contributions to education in the field of information display as the Director of the Kent State Liquid Crystal Institute and as the major professor for numerous graduate students in the field of liquid-crystal technology.

Johan Gutenberg Prize

Dr. Jeffrey J. Folkins:For his substantial contributions to electrophotography and his more recent innovations in solid ink-jet printing.

Lewis and Beatrice Winner Award

Dr. Andras I. Lakatos:

For his many years of outstanding service to the Society for Information Display as a member of the Executive Committee, President, and Editor of the Journal of the SID.

Fellow Awards

Dr. Michael Hack:

For his many contributions to the science and technology of flat-panel displays, including the simulation and modeling of thin-film transistors and the development of liquid-crystal and organic light-emitting displays.

Prof. Myung Hwan Oh:

For his contributions to white-light inorganic electroluminescent backlights for cell phones and his leadership in the advancement of the Korean display industry.

Dr. Kenji Okamoto:

For his outstanding leadership and contributions to developing multi-domain, vertically aligned liquid-crystal displays for large-sized flat-screen monitors and television displays.

Dr. Kalluri Sarma:

For his many contributions to developing active-matrix liquid-crystal-display designs for avionics displays, including methods for wide viewing angle and operation in extreme environmental conditions.

Prof. Yoshifumi Shimodaira:

For his many contributions to the understanding and improvement in picture quality of display systems and for his activities in thesupport of the Society for Information Display.

Prof. Deng-Ke Yang:

For his significant scientific and technological contributions to bistable reflective cholesteric displays and to polymer-stabilized cholesteric devices, and for his outstanding contributions to education in the field of liquid-crystal technology.

Special Recognition Awards

Dr. In-Jae Chung:

For his outstanding contributions to the development of higher-performance liquid-crystal displays with larger apertures and larger display areas through the use of copper bus lines and for reducing display-manufacturing costs by lowering the number of mask steps.

Mr. Alex Henzen:

For his contributions to the development of electrophoretic displays and the integration of these displays into an innovative electronic-book product.

Dr. Kalil Käläntär:

For his outstanding contribution of introducing a novel optical design method for the light guides used in liquid-crystal-display backlights.

Dr. Sang Soo Kim:

For his leadership in the development of super-patterned ITO, vertically aligned (S-PVA) liquid-crystal-display technology with integrated amorphous-silicon row drivers for liquid-crystal-display applications.

Dr. Walter Riess and Dr. Takatoshi Tsujimura:

For their leading contributions to the design of top-emitting large-area active-matrix organic light-emitting displays driven by amorphous-silicon thin-film transistors.

Mr. John Rupp:

For his leadership and initiative over a multi-year period to develop the first avionics-grade full-color active-matrix liquid-crystal displays for commercial aircraft.

Mr. Koichi Sakita:

For his outstanding contributions to the development of a design methodology for the electronic drive waveforms for three-electrode plasma displays through the use of the Vt closed-curve method.

Dr. Marko Slusarczuk:

For his leadership in creating and managing the DARPA high-definition display program, which advanced a wide range of display technologies, including active-matrix liquid crystal, plasma, and projection displays and developing innovative equipment to commercially manufacture these displays.